Mmf Fondant Disaster

Decorating By ambercscott87 Updated 8 Aug 2009 , 1:50am by ambercscott87

ambercscott87 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ambercscott87 Posted 7 Aug 2009 , 4:39pm
post #1 of 11

So i'm a newbie... tried the MMF fondant last night... let it sit and this morning I got up and started kneading and trying to roll it out to cover my cake and I could barely get it a foot in diameter before it would crack like crazy. I tried like 5 times, after adding in some crisco to try to get it more moist... finally just threw it away. i'm so aggravated. I thought it'd be a cinch since I read on here that it's much easier to work with than the wilton fondant which is nasty. heh. any tips on what I did wrong? should I have not let it sit over night? the directions said to let it sit for a few hours to overnight... so i'm stumped and almost to the point of tears or punching something. icon_redface.gif

10 replies
BeeBoos-8599_ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BeeBoos-8599_ Posted 7 Aug 2009 , 4:45pm
post #2 of 11

Oh Amber I am so sorry this happened. I have made it once and went back to store bought so I really dont have an answer for you. Did you try warming it just a bit in the mircowave? If you were just going to pitch it anyway see if that works. I know with Fonderific I have to do that. Also try working with it in smaller batches and kneading more shortening into it. Worth a shot?

TheBlonde Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TheBlonde Posted 7 Aug 2009 , 4:56pm
post #3 of 11

I agree with the previous post...just need to pop it in the microwave and knead it for a bit....works like a charm

nanikins Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nanikins Posted 7 Aug 2009 , 5:09pm
post #4 of 11

Also make sure that you rub it liberally in shortening before storing it. I wrap mine a couple of times in plastic wrap and then put it in a ziptop bag with all the air squeezed out.