Some Fondant Questions From A Newbie...

Decorating By Weezul Updated 7 Aug 2009 , 7:27pm by Weezul

Weezul Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Weezul Posted 7 Aug 2009 , 9:40am
post #1 of 9

Ladies, I could use your help. icon_redface.gif
I have never worked with fondant before, but have managed some decent roses, flower, mushrooms, and a fairy. My questions are:
How long can these fondant things set on BC before getting soggy, will they get soggy from the grease in the BC?
After I have crusted and smoothed the BC I want to put the fondant elements on. Will they just sit on it, do I have to put a dollop of fresh BC down first? (I know i will have to do that for the flowers going onto the side of the cake, but not sure what to do with the ones for on the top)
Is there a risk of the tiny flowers that i am using for garland on the side of slipping off once i attatch them with bc to the side?
What about humidity? It is supposed to rain, and be in the 80's. Will this affect the fondant or the BC?
Really sorry to ask so many questions, but this is for my daughter's second birthday, and with all the time i spent putting iinto the fondant decos I really don't want to screw up! (Not to mention that my sister in law took the Wilton fondant courses and will probably be judging with a critical eye..LOL)

Any help you can give would be MOST appreciated. Her 2nd Bday party is tomorrow, and I thought that I would assemble cake today and leave tomorrow am for the other food prep.
Thanks again Ladies for your time.
Wendy

8 replies
Weezul Posted 7 Aug 2009 , 10:29am
post #2 of 9

I am very sorry for not including the gentlemen, what can i say I am not used to getting up at 4:30am. sorry guys!

Cheyanne25 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cheyanne25 Posted 7 Aug 2009 , 11:32am
post #3 of 9

Most of my cakes are covered in fondant, so I don't have that much experience in buttcream with fondant decorations.