Can I Make 3D Figurines Using Mmf?

Decorating By sofia0710 Updated 7 Aug 2009 , 6:40pm by Rylan

sofia0710 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sofia0710 Posted 6 Aug 2009 , 8:13am
post #1 of 8

May I asked the experts on CC - Can I make #D figures (animals and little people) using MMF or MMF with added Gum-Tex?

I am new to CC and I found this website amazing and everyone is so helpful. Thank you!

7 replies
xstitcher Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
xstitcher Posted 6 Aug 2009 , 8:18am
post #2 of 8

Personally I would add the gum-tex/tylose or gum paste as it will dry faster. I don't use MMF but from what I understand straight fondant has the tendency to sag some. I would use the straight fondant for cut out decorations for the cake instead. I find 50/50 is the best combo for 3d figures as it gives me more working time than just gp but dries faster than just fondant.

Having said all that though I have read on CC that some folks do just use MMF.
icon_smile.gif

sofia0710 Posted 7 Aug 2009 , 4:54am
post #3 of 8

Thanks xstitcher. I'll try 50/59 combination or add Gum-Tex to my fondant next try. When using MMF to make 3D, my figurines sunk as the MMF was too soft.

I have another question...when I add Gum-Tex to fondant, can I use it for modelling straight away or should I waited for 1 day for the Gum-Tex to blend in before using it for modelling?

Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 7 Aug 2009 , 5:06am
post #4 of 8

You can usually feel the fondant stiffen up as you add the gum-tex or tylose. Tylose seems to make a bigger difference for me, and doesn't stink, so if you can get it locally, give it a try sometime.