4 Cakes Made And All Stuck To The Pan And Fell Apart!!!!

Decorating By Trixyinaz Updated 7 Aug 2009 , 4:59am by xstitcher

Trixyinaz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Trixyinaz Posted 6 Aug 2009 , 2:16am
post #1 of 19

I'm frustrated. I've spent the last 3.5 hours making 4 red velvet cakes. The first batch came out. Looked perfect in the pan. Then I went to flip them over and take them out of the pan, and they stuck to the bottom. I tried to repair them, but they are gonners!

I don't know what I am doing wrong lately. I am using the Cake Man Raven recipe, and remember having issues the last time I made it. I use the Witon non stick stuff, but am wondering if it just doesn't work with this recipe.

I'm going to have to redo these cake, and am wondering if I need to do something different so they don't stick. What about parchment paper? I've never used it before. Do I need to grease the bottom of the pan and then put the parchment paper down? Do I just cut out a circle for the bottom of the pan or does it need to come up the sides of the pan too?

Any assistance would be appreciated. Thanks!

18 replies
-Tubbs Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-Tubbs Posted 6 Aug 2009 , 2:25am
post #2 of 19

Oh, poor you! Yeah, you really do need to use parchment paper as well as lots of cake release.

Grease the pan, and then put in a circle of parchment on the bottom. It doesn't have to go around the outside, but make sure it reaches the edges because that's where the sticking usually starts.

Sometimes I neglect to do this, and always regret not spending the extra 2 minutes... thumbsdown.gif

Trixyinaz Posted 6 Aug 2009 , 2:45am
post #3 of 19

Thanks Tubbs! I am going to try that tomorrow night when I start all over. I just pulled my 6" cakes out of the oven and they came out of the pans just fine. I so wanted to be done baking the cake portion of this order tonight so that I could focus on doing the 95 cupcakes tomorrow night. It's gonna be a long night tomorrow!