Should I Freeze The Cakes Or Refrigerate Them?

Decorating By agentdorkfish Updated 9 Aug 2009 , 2:06am by agentdorkfish

agentdorkfish Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
agentdorkfish Posted 5 Aug 2009 , 5:04pm
post #1 of 9

I have two birthday cakes to make for my cousins' birthday on Friday. I'm baking the cakes today so I will all day tomorrow and most of Friday to work on them. How should I store the cakes until tomorrow? My aunt recommended freezing the cakes because they're easier to decorate then. What do you guys suggest?

I also have a wedding cake to do for Sunday. I'm baking Friday and decorating Saturday. So, same question applies. What's best? I'm still a rookie at this! Thanks!

8 replies
diane Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
diane Posted 5 Aug 2009 , 5:09pm
post #2 of 9

you could bake them now and freeze them. but, make sure you wrap them properly. i wrap them in plastic wrap and then put them in a garbage bag...or you could use brown bags. the main thing is to wrap them so as no air can get to it. icon_wink.gif

oh...others wrap their cakes as soon as they come out of the oven to trap in the moisture. i haven't done this yet...so maybe someone here can give you more info as to if that works or not. icon_wink.gif

divaessence Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
divaessence Posted 5 Aug 2009 , 5:26pm
post #3 of 9

I tried wrapping them out of the oven and my cakes DID NOT do well. They stuck to the pans and broke apart. I will not do that again. I have had no problems with letting them cool before storing them in the freezer.

If you're going to decorate the cakes tomorrow, I would not worry about freezing them because you'll have to allow time for them to competely thaw before icing them. I would just wrap them well and put them in the fridge.

Win Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Win Posted 5 Aug 2009 , 5:30pm
post #4 of 9