Question About Fondant Bulging Out From Cake...

Decorating By Brandy982006 Updated 5 Aug 2009 , 10:21pm by Brandy982006

Brandy982006 Posted 5 Aug 2009 , 3:54am
post #1 of 9

Ok, so I am fairly new to the whole cake decorating world...which I LOVE by the way...and I seem to have a problem covering my cakes with fondant. The problem is that when I cover my cakes with the fondant, a little while later I go back to see the part where the fondant reaches the board actually bulges outward...Not too bad but bad enough that it is obvious. To answer one question you all may have, I have used fondant from decopac, a local cake decorating supply store, and my own made MMF...the problem happens with all of them. What am I doing wrong? ANY help will be great...I see all of your beautiful cakes on here and wish I could get my fondant as beautiful as all of yours. If you look up my pictures, only one of the cakes is covered in fondant (the ice cream cone) I feel I have "mastered" the icings pretty good I just really like the look of fondant. Thank you all so much for any advice you have for me. icon_smile.gif

8 replies
Brandy982006 Posted 5 Aug 2009 , 3:58am
post #2 of 9

Sorry, I lied...I just looked at my pics and forgot I added the Quincenerra cake on too is made of fondant...sorry icon_redface.gif

Texas_Rose Posted 5 Aug 2009 , 4:08am
post #3 of 9

I usually bake, level and fill the cake, then let it sit overnight before I put on the crumbcoat and fondant. That way if it's going to settle it can do it first.

cownsj Posted 5 Aug 2009 , 4:09am
post #4 of 9

Your cakes are beautiful. If I understand your problem correctly, you aren't getting the fondant to stick to the cake at the cake board. If that is it, you might want to try applying piping gel at the bottom of the cake and the fondant should stick for you without any problem. Just don't forget to smooth any bubbles out from under the fondant when you put it on.

I hope this helps.