Piping Swirl Designs On A Buttercream Wedding Cake

Decorating By sweetbaker1019 Updated 7 Aug 2009 , 7:24pm by Rylan

sweetbaker1019 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetbaker1019 Posted 4 Aug 2009 , 11:06pm
post #1 of 15

hi there im making a wedding cake for my friend and she wants some swirl designs on the tiers. i was wondering if i should use colored buttercream icing or royal icing? the cake is going to be 4 tiers stacked on each other. please let me know! thoughts and suggrestions are very welcome! thanks! icon_biggrin.gif

14 replies
msthang1224 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
msthang1224 Posted 4 Aug 2009 , 11:24pm
post #2 of 15

Hi, I'm no expert but I thought I read somewhere that using royal icing on buttercream is no good. Forgive me if I'm wrong but I think that the shortening in buttercream breaks down the royal icing. I'm sure that if I'm wrong, our fellow CCer's will get you the correct info.

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 4 Aug 2009 , 11:32pm
post #3 of 15

I use BC for everything ... icing, borders, flowers, roses, stringwork, etc. Never use RI on anything cake.

sweetbaker1019 Posted 6 Aug 2009 , 4:56pm
post #4 of 15

thanks so ,much guys!!!! i dont know where i heard using royal icing for the piping lol anyways i think ill definetly use buttercream icon_biggrin.gif

indydebi Posted 6 Aug 2009 , 5:07pm
post #5 of 15

I think royal is used frequently for piping (my impression from reading other threads and watching the food channel), so it's not odd that you heard that somewhere. And because of the staying power of royal (dries hard, holds in place well), its a favored choice for intricate stringwork.

I've probably just not "graduated" up to that level yet! icon_redface.gificon_biggrin.gif

I would say start with buttercream till you get the hang of it (easy to correct a boo-boo!), then try it with royal to see which you prefer. thumbs_up.gif

icer101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile