Cake Contracts For Sculpted Cakes?

Business By joy5678 Updated 4 Aug 2009 , 11:25am by FromScratch

joy5678 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
joy5678 Posted 3 Aug 2009 , 10:28pm
post #1 of 10

I haven't seen this addressed before and was wondering if anyone requires contracts for 3-D &/or sculpted cakes? If so, what kind of information do you suggest be included. Do you include a clause that releases you from any liabilities if you do not deliver the cake, etc.? Anything you share would be helpful. Thanks! icon_smile.gif

9 replies
JoJo0855 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JoJo0855 Posted 3 Aug 2009 , 10:54pm
post #2 of 10

I'm just a hobbyist so don't know a thing about cake contracts, but if I was ever handed any contract (for anything) that had a clause stating the contractor would be liability free for non-delivery or non-performance, you can bet the farm that contract would go unsigned. Unless it had a clause that said if I wasn't 100% satisfied for any reason I would not have to pay.

__Jamie__ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
__Jamie__ Posted 3 Aug 2009 , 10:55pm
post #3 of 10

Huh?? A clause specifying for whatever reason, if you don't deliver the cake, you're not liable for it? Or are you meaning if you don't deliver exact, spot on, drop dead accuracy? I hope that's what you meant. Even that is not cool though.

joy5678 Posted 4 Aug 2009 , 12:16am
post #4 of 10

Whoops! Sorry, should have made myself more clear icon_sad.gif What I mean is.....if a customer wants to pick up their cake instead of having it delivered, should there be a clause in the contract to state that I am not responsible for anything that might happen to the cake (like it falls over and breaks) if I do not deliver it. Does that make more sense??? And do you think a contract is even needed for a cake other than a wedding cake?

FromScratch Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FromScratch Posted 4 Aug 2009 , 12:21am
post #5 of 10