Fondant: This Dorkfish's Next Mission.

Decorating By agentdorkfish Updated 8 Aug 2009 , 11:20pm by ceshell

agentdorkfish Posted 31 Jul 2009 , 2:38am
post #1 of 8

So, I have decided that I am going to dive into a fondant project. I have never tried before. But I'm making my cousin a Twilight birthday cake, and I really want a nice, smooth appearance.

So, spread your wisdom on to me! What is the best frosting to use under fondant? How do you get fondant pieces to stick to fondant? Can you pipe frosting on top of fondant?

Also, I was going to try this fondant recipe because it sounds simple for me to do. Would this recipe harden like other fondants? How could I make this a chocolate fondant?

Sorry for all the questions! I've searched the site for answers but wasn't feeling confident. You guys have been amazing with my past questions, so I figured I'd see what wise words and advice you could offer me! Thanks!

7 replies
SouthernSugar Posted 31 Jul 2009 , 7:19am
post #2 of 8

I don't know what your regular buttercream is but you can use most of them under fondant. I use either a crusting buttercream or IMBC. I have heard that the whipped icings are a little too soft to hold up under fondant.

To stick fondant to findant just use a little bit of water. I just apply it with a small paintbrush. And yes, you can pipe on top of fondant.

I can't help you on the fondant recipe you are using, I despise making fondant so I just buy it but I am sure someone who has used the MMF will chime in soon. HTH

Texas_Rose Posted 31 Jul 2009 , 7:48am
post #3 of 8

I've never tried that recipe, but the one I use is simple too...http://whatscookingamerica.net/PegW/Fondant.htm

To stick fondant to fondant, you can use water or you can dissolve a little piece of fondant in water and use that, or mix tylose and water.

To make your fondant chocolate, replace some of the powdered sugar with cocoa powder.

agentdorkfish Posted 31 Jul 2009 , 1:45pm
post #4 of 8