Do You Worry A Lot? Are You Germaphobic? Ocd?

Lounge By Rylan Updated 6 Aug 2009 , 12:23pm by cylstrial

Rylan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rylan Posted 31 Jul 2009 , 2:34am
post #1 of 44

After discussing this subject in a cake related thread, I thought maybe I should make a separate thread about this.

I worry a lot. I always feel like my partner (soon to be husband) will leave me for someone skinnier. I also never take my dog to parks or walks because I am afraid some type of parasite will stick to him. I always worry that I might get some type of disease or illness.

I am also germaphobic. When I used to work in the medical field, I washed my hands so much until it felt like I had a sunburn. I don't touch door knobs in public restrooms or hospitals. I cannot sleep if the closet door is open. There are times when I repetatively check if the doors are locked. I also have to park my car perfectly straight and even. There are more but when do you think is the time to ask for professional help? It doesn't really affect my life because I have adapted to it but do you think it has been extreme? Is this normal?

How about you? What are your experiences?

43 replies
Cakepro Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cakepro Posted 31 Jul 2009 , 2:57am
post #2 of 44

Yeah, it's time for you to see a shrink.

redpanda Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
redpanda Posted 31 Jul 2009 , 4:10am
post #3 of 44

I have some, but not all of those behaviors. My ds teases me about going back repeatedly to check the garage door. I now say out loud, "garage is closed" after checking, before pulling away from my driveway. Woe to anyone who talks to me when I am checking, because it means that I will have to circle back.

With regards to not touching bathroom fixtures and doorknobs with your bare hands, that is actually the current public health recommendation. (That's my story, and I'm sticking with it!)