I Am Stunned, Just Gobsmacked (Long)

Decorating By Butterpatty Updated 19 Aug 2009 , 3:31am by goddessa12

Butterpatty Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Butterpatty Posted 30 Jul 2009 , 9:34pm
post #1 of 24

I am a newbie to cake decorating, but I have baked for years and shared it with friends and coworkers (for free and when the spirit to do so moved me icon_biggrin.gif ). I have received many compliments on my baked goods. Now that I am learning to decorate, I do so only for close friends and family. I just got a call from an acquaintance (NEVER would want this toxic woman as a friend!) that has left me shaking and madder than a wet hen!!

Toxic Woman: Hey, I need a cake
Me: Hello to you, too
TW: Oh, hello. I need you to do me a cake for this Saturday.
Me: Oh, I'm sorry, I can't. Big plans already
TW: No,no, I really need this cake
Me: Well, sorry
TW: No, I really need this cake and you've got to do it because I told my friend you would and I always keep my word no matter what.
Me: Well, xxx, you shouldn't have promised her something that you didn't ask about first. No cakes from me this week (trying to smile and be light-hearted so as not to go off on her)
TW: I am NOT NOT NOT going back on my word. Help me out here
Me: I cannot, will not, do not intend to do any cakes this week. Plus, I really only do cakes for fun for my friends and my family. So no can do.
TW: Well, I AM a friend and so you CAN do this for me
Me: <silence>
TW: so you really aren't going to help me out, are you?
Me: <silence>
TW: Thanks for nothing. I bet if everybody knew just what Miss GoodyTwoShoes was really like, they would be shocked. <Hangs Up>

Now I am mad at myself for being upset by her. She is a two-faced person at best and a blatant troublemaker at worst. I am wishing even more that I would have let her have it with both barrels and told her exactly why she would NEVER get a cake from me (she never has and never will, esp now).

23 replies