Basic Cake Assembly Sos

Decorating By thebakingmedic Updated 31 Jul 2009 , 12:12am by tastyart

thebakingmedic Posted 30 Jul 2009 , 6:00pm
post #1 of 11

Hi there,

I'm a beginner baker/cake maker and one of the issues I've had in the past with my cakes involves stacking the layers on top of each other.

They start to slide and I get a messy looking, lopsided cake. I've resorted to inserting toothpicks in between the layers to keep the cake together. How ever, it's embarassing, not to mention a bit hazardous to serve a cake riddled with tooth picks.

So, any tips on getting the layers of a cake not to slide when there is icing in between them? Do I have to use thicker icing? Chill the cake?

All suggestions welcome! icon_smile.gif

10 replies
jardot22 Posted 30 Jul 2009 , 6:09pm
post #2 of 11

You should try putting a "dam" of stiffened buttercream icing between the layers, (pipe it in a circle around the outer edge of the cake), then after you fill the cake and put your next layer on, place a cake circle on top and push down to help the cake settle. The dam will help keep your filling in the middle so the layers don't shift, and so you don't end up with bulges on the sides of your cake. Hope this helps you out!

thebakingmedic Posted 30 Jul 2009 , 6:24pm
post #3 of 11

Thanks, I'll definitely try that next time!

However, I'm not familiar with the term "cake circle". Could you please explain it to me?

jardot22 Posted 30 Jul 2009 , 6:27pm
post #4 of 11

By cake circle I'm referring to the cardboard rounds that are used to separate tiers - the ones you can find at Walmart or Hobby Lobby / Michaels in packs of like 6. They come in all different sizes 6 inches up to 16 inches.

tastyart Posted 30 Jul 2009 , 7:01pm
post #6 of 11