How Do I Attach Arms?

Decorating By robertssl Updated 30 Jul 2009 , 7:46am by Rylan

robertssl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
robertssl Posted 29 Jul 2009 , 8:41pm
post #1 of 7

I'm new to cake making and my boss (no pressure!!) has asked me to make a pokemon cake for her sons birthday, specifically the character munchlax. I feel confident that I can make his body and head (I do plan to make a practice cake first) but I'm not sure how to attach the arms to the body. Should I make the arms out of fondant or rice krispy treats? The cake will be covered in fondat. PLEASE HELP ME

6 replies
brincess_b Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brincess_b Posted 29 Jul 2009 , 9:05pm
post #2 of 7

you could possible get away with chunkily rolled out fondant, cut to arm shape, and kind of wrapped over his belly.
otherwise, i think you are looking at RKT, and id use a dowel at the shoulder, and if possible, the 'elbow' into the body.
xx

Rylan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rylan Posted 30 Jul 2009 , 12:15am
post #3 of 7

I suggest you use RKY so it isn't too heavy--that is if you are going to make it big.

robertssl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
robertssl Posted 30 Jul 2009 , 12:24am
post #4 of 7

again, I'm new at this, please bear with me...what is RKY?

misserica Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
misserica Posted 30 Jul 2009 , 1:00am
post #5 of 7

I think what Rylan meant was RKT (rice crispy treats).

I just made Elmo (well most of of him at this point) but I crushed the rice crispy cereal into dust basically before I mixed it with the marshmallow (a tip I got on CC) and then shaped the body parts and let them dry and get hard. Today I covered him in fondant and attached his body parts with toothpicks. If you are making a larger figure you could use dowels as brincess suggested or even candy sticks.