How Do You Deal With People Copyiing You? Grrr.

Decorating By three_sets_of_twins Updated 29 Jul 2009 , 4:33pm by Kiddiekakes

three_sets_of_twins Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
three_sets_of_twins Posted 26 Jul 2009 , 5:50am
post #1 of 7

Hello CC.
For those of you who dont know, I'm an american home baker living in the middle east. Baking ingredients, packaging, decor, etc, is very hard to come by here, so to be in this business I had to REALLY use my imagination.
Well something Ive recently done is started ordering all my stuff from the states and just shipping it over, there are several other women here who bake and sell from home, so doing this has gotten me to be pretty unique in my items and have more people call.
Well another home baker who I chat with at times came across my website, sent me a message and complimented my work. We chatted back and forth sometimes (this is the same woman who hasnt payed me yet for those of you who saw that thread..)
Well this person has copied my website almost to the T when it comes to layout and style, is always asking me how I did this, or how I did that, where Igot this, where I got that, etc. Isnt it not very good business conduct to be asking me these thinngs??
Also, when this person saw on my website that I had shipped in a whole bunch of specialty items from the states, like sprinkles all different shapes (they only sell 1 kind here), edible glitters, edible markers, lorainne oils, etc, this person wasnt even shy to say to me "Wow!! im ordering all that stuff too" and proceeds to email me links even to show me that now we have the "same" stuff.
I loved being unique and being the only one who had these things. I dont know ANYONE here so all my business is from FB or from advertising. I do have things going pretty well, but I still have weeks like this one where no one has called. This person brags she has 5 customers a day. Well stop stealing my ideas!!!!!!!