Transpoting Cake...need Advice

Decorating By savedbyhisgrace Updated 28 Jul 2009 , 2:10pm by savedbyhisgrace

savedbyhisgrace Posted 25 Jul 2009 , 1:31pm
post #1 of 16

I am new to making cakes this big and an nervous about transporting it. It's 3 tier with buttercream and I don't know if I should set it up there or stack it here and deliver. What are your suggestions, we are only going about 10 minutes from my house but my husbands driving scares me LOL

15 replies
Rylan Posted 25 Jul 2009 , 5:36pm
post #2 of 16

Go with whatever you are comfortable with. I personally would transport it stacked. I've transported 3 feet tall cakes in pedestal stands with no problems.

Like I always say, a reliable support system and proper driving are the keys to success.

If you are going to use the dowelling method, don't forget to put a center dowel--it will totally save you.

dogluvr Posted 25 Jul 2009 , 5:57pm
post #3 of 16

or you can try the SPS system...they are no fault...

kjt Posted 25 Jul 2009 , 6:31pm
post #4 of 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by savedbyhisgrace

we are only going about 10 minutes from my house but my husbands driving scares me LOL

icon_lol.gificon_lol.gif
If you use the SPS method (go to the "How To" Forum, and read the sticky at the top that leahs posted for all the scoop on this), your cake will travel safely no matter how far, or WHO is doing the driving! Really...

Jennifer1970 Posted 25 Jul 2009 , 7:29pm
post #5 of 16

I always transport my cakes un-assembled. I'm too nervous about something falling apart! Much easier to carry into the venue in separate boxes, and set up there.

weirkd Posted 26 Jul 2009 , 12:18am
post #6 of 16

Yah, I agree with Jennifer also. I had a five tiered monster that I could of traveled with all put together but I would of never been able to carry the dang thing into the venue! As it was it took two of us on a rolling cart to get it in there and lift the booger!! But if you do, then go with the SPS system and center dowel.