Wedding Samples

Business By Shanadi Updated 25 Jul 2009 , 8:02pm by Deb_

Shanadi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Shanadi Posted 24 Jul 2009 , 6:45pm
post #1 of 11

I am fairly new to this and just booked a wedding cake and the bride has requested to try some different samples of both frosting and cake. How do you go about doing this when you don't have a huge bakery. I don't want to more than necessary if there is a trick to doing this. Any advice would be great!!

THanks
Shanadi Chamberlin

10 replies
cylstrial Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cylstrial Posted 25 Jul 2009 , 12:15pm
post #2 of 11

You could make mini cupcakes in a couple of different flavors and then freeze the extra's. The next time you have a tasting you'll just pull those out and let them thaw and then stick them on a plate.

I also heard from a lady on here that she would put her frosting in ice cube tray and then freeze it. When it was time she would pop the icing out of the tray (just like ice) and then put it on a plate. It just melts back to the way your icing should be.

Now some cake bakers will specifically bake whatever flavor the bride and groom are wanting to try. And others just say, you can sample what I have on hand. As IndyDebi says, "If you like like my white cake, you'll love my lemon cake. It's just like like my white, but it tastes like lemon." (Only she says it much better).

So you just have to decide what approach you want to take. It sounds like the freezing and sampling what you have on hand might work best for you right now. But that's just my opinion.

aligotmatt Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aligotmatt Posted 25 Jul 2009 , 1:03pm
post #3 of 11

I include sampling any 2 cakes and 2 fillings with the booking of a cake. They get 2 cupcakes of each flavor and 1- 2oz. cup of each filling.

Anything more than that costs $25 for each additional sample (2 cupcakes of 1 flavor and 1 cup of filling) It's really just to cover my costs...