Need Idea For Best Tasting Filling For Chocolate Cake

Decorating By Letty_Newbie Updated 14 Aug 2009 , 7:39pm by Musings9

Letty_Newbie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Letty_Newbie Posted 23 Jul 2009 , 8:02pm
post #1 of 9

Hi, just to preface, I am new to cake making/decorating and of course am in need of some help. My son wants a chocolate cake with chocolate frosting and strawberries, bananas, marshmallows, coconut, and every candy under the sun for his 4th birthday. I stopped at chocolate cake. I will be covering the cake with fondant and using fondant decorations. I will use either chocolate buttercream or dark chocolate buttercream frosting as glue. Could I use a thick layer or will the fondant fall off (I am trying to offset the bad taste of fondant)? I am baking 2 9inch layer chocolate cakes, but don't know what to fill the cake with. Would the chocolate buttercream with fresh strawberries and bananas taste great? How will it hold up if I complete the cake the day before since I won't refridgerate or am I supposed to? How about ganache? I want a great tasting filling that will impress my friends and family yet please my son. Any and all help is greatly appreciated.

8 replies
Doug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Doug Posted 23 Jul 2009 , 8:20pm
post #2 of 9

the cake can be filled with the chocolate buttercream.

for all the other fun stuff -- why not a chocolate fondue -- can dip strawberries, bananas, marshmallows to hearts content and then roll in shredded coconut.

too thick of a layer of buttercream under the fondant will cause problems with smoothing, with sagging, lumping, etc. (think what happens to people as gravity wins as we age! )

what fondant are you using -- please don't say Wilton (ICK!!!) try making your own.
Marshmallow fondant (MMF) http://www.cakecentral.com/cake_recipe-3183-5-Rhondas-Ultimate-MMF.html
or
Michele Foster Fondant (MFF) http://www.cakecentral.com/cake_recipe-7432-28-Michele-Fosters-Updated-Fondant.html