General Questions From A Complete Newbie

Decorating By ohayr639 Updated 24 Jul 2009 , 3:51pm by djs328

ohayr639 Posted 23 Jul 2009 , 2:29pm
post #1 of 11

So I am very new to the making cakes thing and to Cake Central and I had a few questions that I can't find in the forums.
1. Is it wrong to look at pictures on here and try to make them myself, I would not tell people that I created them on my own?
2. Does anyone know the rules for selling cakes in Colorado or the process for getting a license?
3. Does anyone know if I can write off my cake supplies on my taxes if I am not licensed to sell cakes?

Thanks so much! icon_smile.gif

10 replies
cylstrial Posted 23 Jul 2009 , 6:28pm
post #2 of 11

Welcome to CC!

1. I don't think it's wrong to look at something and recreate it. Although, I do believe that you should give credit to the person (I always put who the name of who created the cake). And I always try to change it in some way to make it my own.

2. Here is the link for the info that KelleyM has gathered. It's grouped state by state.
http://www.cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-586218.html

3. I have no idea!

mkm25 Posted 23 Jul 2009 , 6:46pm
post #3 of 11

Hello and welcome! I can't help you with your second and third questions, but I believe most people are ok with you adapting their cake design to their own. I see no problem with taking inspiration from someone else's work - after all, don't all artists work from "inspiration"? I agree with cylstrial, though, that you should credit the original artist when possible. You might even show that person your work - I know I'd love to see a cake that was inspired by my work! icon_smile.gif

ohayr639 Posted 23 Jul 2009 , 7:07pm
post #4 of 11