Getting Feedback And References?

Decorating By GateauGirl Updated 23 Jul 2009 , 4:59am by Mensch

GateauGirl Posted 23 Jul 2009 , 4:53am
post #1 of 2

I'm just getting started (sent in paperwork for my inspection, which I hope will be scheduled soon) but have concerns about cakes I've already done for customers. I have not specifically had negative feedback, I'm just worried that they were not satisfied (one of them with good reason).

Here are the situations: first was 2 cakes delivered on the same day to 1 customer. They were b-day cakes for her little girl and, although I think they turned out pretty well, I was a bit concerned that the doll cake might not have cooked perfectly (and completely) all the way thru since I didn't use a baking core. I wished I had afterward, since this is such a tall, thick cake when you use a doll pan. Anyway, despite the apparent satisfaction I saw/ heard when I delivered this and the other cake, when I followed up with a phonecall (ended up leaving a voicemail) and asked her to please send me pictures of the cakes, I have not heard anything more from her.

I'm wondering if that means there was something wrong with the cakes. Silly me for not stopping to take pics after all that work!! They turned out great on the outside, but again, I'm worried about the inside...

Second situation was with a cake I made for another friend's son: a piano cake, with black buttercream and strawberry filling (the cake itself was strawberry too). It looked great when it left my house, but the filling I made was too thin and began oozing out the sides once it got to its destination (pic is attached). Cleanup was not easy, but it was somewhat salvageable (though some filling turned black as it oozed out and tinted the red BC in the base layer)...they were, of course, very cool about it and took lots of pics of it anyway.