Calling All Texans

Business By SugaredUpinTX Updated 27 Jul 2009 , 11:56pm by CakeForte

SugaredUpinTX Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SugaredUpinTX Posted 23 Jul 2009 , 2:45am
post #1 of 12

Hi Everyone!
I am new to CC and I am wondering if there are any fellow Texans out there that could help me with a health inspection question. Everything that I have read seems to tell me that you can't get a permit for your home kitchen. However I called the local HD and he said all I had to do was come there and pay the food permit fee, and he would come do an inspection. I made it clear that this is my home kitchen, and he said it didn't matter. Given everything that I had previously learned, he kinda confused me. SO, I was wondering if there are any licensed home based bakers in Texas.

TIA

11 replies
CakeForte Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeForte Posted 23 Jul 2009 , 3:38am
post #2 of 12

That's the problem with Texas, each county and city has a different rule. Some places you CAN have a kitchen on site...it just has to be separated from the rest of the house. The rules on "separation" may vary.

Definitely don't trust what the person says though. Look up the health department rules for your city and county and see what they say. Go by that. If there isn't an HD for the city or county, you have to go by the state rules. State rules trump City rules, which trumps county.

SugaredUpinTX Posted 23 Jul 2009 , 4:47am
post #3 of 12

See that is the part that is so confusing...I talked to the county health inspector. He basically said go pay for your permit and I'll give you an inspection. I am going to their office tomorrow to see what the deal is. If I can do that it would be great, but I don't think that is how it works.

CakeForte Posted 23 Jul 2009 , 5:12am
post #4 of 12

Ok, so he'll inspect your facility and then fail you b/c you don't meet the requirements, and you're out money.