Should I Change My (Intended) Business Name?

Business By Mickey17 Updated 22 Jul 2009 , 12:54pm by 1234me

Mickey17 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mickey17 Posted 21 Jul 2009 , 3:04pm
post #1 of 8

I am just getting started. I am working on finding a kitchen to lease space, getting the word out and whatnot. I started looking for a name that I thought was cute and could work so I settled on "A Piece of Cake for You" when I was originally looking around I didn't see anything local that had the "Piece of Cake" name associated with it. I ordered buisiness cards and registered as a DBA with my county.....and then I found that there is a business about 45 miles away using that name who has been in business for quite some time. (How I missed it the first few times, I have no idea.)

Now I am wondering if my chosen name is too close. I wouldn't want to step on anyone's toes or get or lose business because a client was confused about the names. However, if I change the name now I am out (an admittedly small amount) money and have to deal with the PITA of dealing with the licensing department of the county again.

What would you guys do? If you were the owner of the other business would that bother you?

7 replies
__Jamie__ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
__Jamie__ Posted 21 Jul 2009 , 3:40pm
post #2 of 8

I would change it in a heartbeat, I'd want something very original and in no way would be confused for other place. And yes, it would bother me if I were the other person.

On a slightly related note, I found out something really sneaky one of the satellite tv providers do. Their phone number is one digit off from their competitors billing department. So when callers mistakenly dial the number, they think they are reaching the billing department of their provider. Nope, they got the other guys. And then they try to get them to switch over to their service. How very very conniving.

Unlimited Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Unlimited Posted 21 Jul 2009 , 4:14pm