Want To Cover Styrofoam Balls With Fondant And Stack Them??

Decorating By Letty_Newbie Updated 14 Aug 2009 , 7:35pm by Letty_Newbie

Letty_Newbie Posted 21 Jul 2009 , 3:44am
post #1 of 8

Hello, I am a newbie to fondant and am in need of some technique assistance. I am creating a fondant covered cake topper for an iced sheet cake that I am purchasing (it is a special cake that I cannot reproduce). I need to stack/attach 4" styrofoam balls to each other and cover them with fondant. (I prefer to cover with fondant rather than paint, because of the elegant look.) From what I've researched on using dummy cakes, I will be covering the styrofoam with plastic wrap and layering with buttercream before covering with fondant. Should I cover each layer with fondant before attaching the balls? Or should attach them first then cover? What should I use to attach the styrofoam? How do I go about cutting styrofoam? I have purchased both styrofoam balls and discs in varying sizes. Is it easier to cover balls with fondant or discs that are 1" thick (they have that sharp edge people have complained about) because I can go in either direction? I thank you for any and all help!

7 replies
Lyndseyb52 Posted 21 Jul 2009 , 6:08am
post #2 of 8

Hi Lettie, welcome to the site icon_smile.gif

Personally i would find it easier covering 1" discs than balls, although I can't really picture which would be better on your finished cake. Are you trying to copy a cake you've seen? Maybe show us a picture?

When I've covered styrofoam before, I've just used a damp paintbrush where I want the fondant to stick, then put the rolled out fondant straight on. I've only used plastic wrap if I wanted to re-use the styrofoam.

I'd attach the balls/discs with a little royal icing, softened fondant or just edible glue...depending on if they were just sitting there on the cake or taking the weight of anything else.

Hope that's helped a little and not confused you more !

Lyndsey xx