My Mission: An Awesome Frosting Recipe

Baking By agentdorkfish Updated 19 Aug 2009 , 4:24am by NatiMF30

agentdorkfish Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
agentdorkfish Posted 20 Jul 2009 , 2:11am
post #1 of 20

I'm still a wee rookie to cake decorating. I'm trying to branch out and make my own frosting because homemade is so much better than store-bought. I'm just not having much luck so far.

I need a frosting that will hold up to decorating but tastes good. Is there any recipe that gives me that but doesn't taste like it consists only of powdered sugar?

Help!

19 replies
jonahsmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jonahsmom Posted 20 Jul 2009 , 2:55am
post #2 of 20

This is the frosting that our local cake shop uses and people claim she has the best frosting around.

2 cups crisco
1/2 cup real butter (unsalted)
1 cup water
2 tsps salt
2 tsps vanilla
1 tsp almond flavoring
2 lbs powdered sugar

I use Sugarshack's recipe with french vanilla creamer as my hot liquid (powder kind mixed with water). My friends think my frosting is better than Larita's and I know I could eat it by the bowlful if I didn't care how big my butt grew!!! LOL! The difference in taste to me is all about the almond flavoring. I'm just not a big fan, but some people really like it.

You can find sugarshack's buttercream recipe here on CC.

HTH!

CanadianCakin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CanadianCakin Posted 20 Jul 2009 , 4:28am
post #3 of 20

2 words.......Indydebi`s Buttercream......search it in the recipe section! icon_wink.gif

Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 20 Jul 2009 , 6:03am
post #4 of 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by momma_ash

2 words.......Indydebi`s Buttercream......search it in the recipe section! icon_wink.gif

Exactly what I was going to suggest...go get yourself some Dream Whip and give it a try!!! It holds up really well and doesn't have that greasy taste that the basic Wilton recipe has. My whole family loves it icon_biggrin.gif