Please...what Would You Do?

Business By cas17 Updated 20 Jul 2009 , 7:14pm by indydebi

cas17 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cas17 Posted 19 Jul 2009 , 10:32pm
post #1 of 26

please help me fellow CC'rs. i am pretty new to the decorating business but i am a fully licensed and inspected home baker. usually i have an order and then deliver it as where i live they do not allow customer pick up anyway.

today i had a bridal consultation and was surprised to find that the bride and groom are going to be picking up the cake and taking it to the wedding/reception location which is about 1 1/2 - 2 hours away. i pretty much thought that they didn't want to pay the delivery and just emphasized how careful they will need to be and not to put it in the trunk etc etc etc. it is a buttercream, stacked 3 tier cake so they will travel with the bottom 2 stacked and the top tier placed along with their topper upon arrival.

well, the more i think about it the more i don't like this situation. she says her sil's best friend will place the top tier and topper as she is their caterer and used to do cakes. so should i be okay with this? this stranger will be placing the top tier on and the topper which you know those can be tricky and will need to put the border around the bottom edge of the top tier. THEN all the pictures will be taken and my name will be associated with the messed up cake OR maybe worse it looks fine but the guests will think it's the caterer's! please any suggestions or advice if you have been in this kind of dilema is most appreciated icon_smile.gif

25 replies
maryjsgirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
maryjsgirl Posted 19 Jul 2009 , 10:38pm
post #2 of 26

If the venue is 1.5-2 hours away do you really need to worry about potential customers? Or is your customer base that far away?

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 19 Jul 2009 , 11:26pm
post #3 of 26