Soooo Confused.. What To Do Next???

Business By Mylittleflutterby Updated 22 Jul 2009 , 4:50am by PartyCake

Mylittleflutterby Posted 17 Jul 2009 , 8:27pm
post #1 of 9

First off let me start by saying I am sorry if I have asked something like this already or if I am missing a post with this information, but please bear with me I am a newbie to the cake making/decorating from a business stand point and am stressing about what to do.

So here is my situation. I love baking and decorating and especially sharing my passion with others. I have taken a Wilton course, tested tonnes of recipes, got all the information on starting a baking business from my house (no problem at all in my area) and am in the process of filling out paperwork for a business license, but I am at a loss for how to get things started. What I want to focus on is gourmet cupcakes with a retro twist. What I mean by this is having funky flavors that remind people of childhood treats, favorite drinks etc. I plan to expand into cakes a little later. I am stressing over pricing, how to market and generate some business.

The area I live in has a huge range of income brackets and I am not too far from one of the largest cities in Canada.

Any advice or experience anyone can share would be greatly appreciated!. I really want to get started I am just nervous and kinda lost.

8 replies
costumeczar Posted 17 Jul 2009 , 10:04pm
post #2 of 9

Start with your pricing, since that seems to be what gives everyone the heebie jeebies. There are a few price matrices on CC that you can fill out to see where your pricing should be, and if there are any shops in your area that do a similar type of thing that you are thinking of doing, go there and buy some of their stuff to see what you get for how much. (Notice that I don't say to call them and act casual about asking all of their prices icon_smile.gif . You won't be fooling anyone.)