Yikes...first Tiered Cake Is A Disaster!

Decorating By singinglark Updated 21 Jul 2009 , 8:31pm by indydebi

singinglark Posted 16 Jul 2009 , 9:19pm
post #1 of 15

So I am new to cake decorating. Learning by trial and error...and the internet. I made my first tiered cake for my sister-in-laws bridal shower. Learned several lessons:
1) Didn't know to use cake boards in between layers
2) Didn't know to support the cake
3) Didn't know it would be better to cover each layer versus covering the entire cake with one big piece of fondant...

So....the result of not knowing these things was this pitiful cake....lessons learned...
LL

14 replies
cdent Posted 16 Jul 2009 , 9:28pm
post #2 of 15

Well, yes you have some things to learn but I still think you're cake concept is adorable! I'd definitly still eat it icon_wink.gif

tanyascakes Posted 16 Jul 2009 , 9:28pm
post #3 of 15

You know, despite all of the support errors, I think it looks okay. Sure yo have a lot to learn. So do I, so does everybody. There is always something else to be learned in this business. The colors you chose worked very well together, IMHO. You do have a little pleat at the bottom tier. But for a first, you did okay. So don't be too hard on yourself! Take it on the chin and remeber for the next time!

Tanya

debster Posted 16 Jul 2009 , 9:30pm
post #4 of 15

Awwwwwww............. I'm amazed it looks as good as it does for all that , you could of really had a LOT worse happen. Now you know can't wait to see the next post. This really isn't bad considering. If I would of did all that I would of had one pile of pooh. At least yours survived!!!!!

UpAt2am Posted 16 Jul 2009 , 9:33pm
post #5 of 15