All Help Gratefully Received!!!

Decorating By Handbag-Queen Updated 15 Jul 2009 , 6:52pm by gatorcakes

Handbag-Queen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Handbag-Queen Posted 15 Jul 2009 , 1:48pm
post #1 of 20

It is my son's 3rd b'day soon & i am going to try & make a lightning mcqueen cake.

I have bought the tin from Wilton & have had a trial run making the actual cake & it was ok.

I have a couple of questions though & believe me any advice will be absorbed like a sponge!!

When i greased the tin i used spray oil & flour for my 2st attempt but the features of lightning didnt quite stand out,2nd try i used butter & flour & the features came out a bit more but not as much as i would have liked.

1/ What do you use to grease your tin to make sure the features stand out?

2/ What icing set do you use? I have just had a practice using a bag & it wasnt good, do you have your buttercream very soft?

3/ Is there a technique to piping the perfect stars?

I am a complete novice so i apologise if i sound a bit dim icon_biggrin.gif
Thankyou!

19 replies
sarkee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sarkee Posted 15 Jul 2009 , 2:04pm
post #2 of 20

I did one of these in May. I always use the Wilton Cake Release. Works like a charm. I use disposable bags and the tips you need are listed on the instructions for the pan. I also used the Cars colors that come for making that cake. Gives true colors that you are after. As for stars, it's really just squeeze and release. Practice a few times to get a feel for the pressure you need for the size star you want. Just follow the directions and no the buttercream doesn't have to be really soft. I prefer a cool room temperature that way it isn't too hard to squeeze. You will do fine, but your hand will be tired. Good Luck!

MLand Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MLand Posted 15 Jul 2009 , 2:06pm
post #3 of 20

1) Pam baking spray - I just have to keep looking at the pic as I am decorating and get it as close as I can.