Help--My Cakes Keep Cracking!!!

Decorating By christine1103 Updated 16 Jul 2009 , 7:32pm by mgwebb68

christine1103 Posted 15 Jul 2009 , 12:31am
post #1 of 19

I've been making cakes for a few years now...not as a business just here and there as a hobby for family birthdays and every time I make my cakes I wind up with cakes that crack down the middle and practically fall apart. Sometimes it's so bad I have to re make the cake because it just can't be salvaged. Here are the facts:
* making enhanced cake recipe (extra flour, sugar, sour cream, eggs, butter)
* following baking directions to the higher end of time limit and often have to leave them in longer because they are still too soft
* I use the flower pin in the center of the pan to get even cooking throughout
* after I take it out of the oven, I let it rest and cool a bit before putting it on the cooling rack
* it happens regardless of cake/pan size (although never really happened in the 4in cake pan)

Does anyone know why this might be happening and have any hints for me?
--Am I not making it thick enough? (although sometimes it almost overflows)
--should I increase the heat for my oven? (maybe it isn't accurate)
--should I cook it longer?

This is so frustrating!!!
Thanks for your help....I just had to throw out a cake I made last night....at least I have until Saturday until I need the cake.
Christine

18 replies
TexasSugar Posted 15 Jul 2009 , 1:13am
post #2 of 19

When does it crack? When it is on the cooling rack? Does your cakes have humps on the top?

If so, when you put the hump upside down, it is not giving the cake a flat surface to lay on, and the sides will end up weighing down and it will cause the middle to split.

christine1103 Posted 15 Jul 2009 , 1:24am
post #3 of 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by TexasSugar

When does it crack? When it is on the cooling rack? Does your cakes have humps on the top?