Michelle Fosters Fondant

Decorating By cathyscakes Updated 14 Jul 2009 , 5:39am by bakermommy4

cathyscakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cathyscakes Posted 12 Jul 2009 , 11:36pm
post #1 of 23

I must say I love the taste of the fondant, but man, its is really hard to work. It turned out dry and crumbly, and was falling apart, I couldn't mix the color in it. I had to knead small pieces of fondant, adding glycerin, and crisco, its the only way I could get it workable. I just can't imagine what I did wrong, I know it can't be this hard. I must have added to much powdered sugar, but how do you know, it was a soft ball, like the recipe stated, but I must have done something wrong. Has anyone else had this trouble. I'm so afraid to use it, and it makes alot, I hate to waste it. Any ideas would be so helpful, thanks

22 replies
mustang1964 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mustang1964 Posted 12 Jul 2009 , 11:46pm
post #2 of 23

I am a total beginner with fondant but, I really think you must have added to much powdered sugar. This is my favorite fondant recipe because it is so smooth and easy to work with. icon_smile.gif

cvigil Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cvigil Posted 13 Jul 2009 , 1:07am
post #3 of 23

I love this recipe. I have found it much easier to color before adding the powdered sugar. It's hard to tell what it will look like before the sugar is added but you can always add more later.
Also, I pop it in the microwave for about 10-15 seconds to soften it to make it more workable when I am ready to knead it. You will definetly work up a sweat but warming it up helps a lot.
I hope this helps.

Barb00 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Barb00 Posted 13 Jul 2009 , 1:21am
post #4 of 23