Is It The Bakers Responsibility?

Decorating By Digit Updated 16 Jul 2009 , 7:54pm by BCo

Digit Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Digit Posted 12 Jul 2009 , 10:05pm
post #1 of 11

I am an at home baker and have recently started making wedding cakes. I've delivered a few to reception halls and nothing was said to me except for this last cake where they asked if I brought boxes to wrap up any leftover cake in (not the individual slice boxes, just a few big boxes). They said the bakeries always provide boxes. I never really thought about that. I guess I assumed the reception place would do that. I had to stack on site, so I left the boxes that I used to deliver the tiers in, which was sufficient.

So, my question is...is it the bakers responsibility to provide boxes for left over cake??

I'm trying to be as professional as I can. I've never worked in a bakery, so I'm learning all the little details as I go.

Thanks for your help. I appreciate you guys!

10 replies
jammjenks Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jammjenks Posted 12 Jul 2009 , 10:13pm
post #2 of 11

I never leave boxesfor leftover cake. If they want to save the top tier for the anniversary (which is one of the questions I ask at the tasting/meeting), then I leave a 7X7X5 box.

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 12 Jul 2009 , 10:17pm
post #3 of 11

I would say yes, the bakery provides the boxes. Theoretically, the cake is delivered in a box and the box is saved for any leftover cake. So it's logical that the baker supplies them.

I delivered one wedding cake to a country club, who evidently had a problem with no boxes. She kept asking me if I brought boxes and I told her twice "they're still in the van ... I'll get them after I get the cake set up." She mentioned it again, adding "....because I do NOT keep cake boxes in stock!"