Competition

Business By Kitagrl Updated 13 Jul 2009 , 5:38pm by nannie

Kitagrl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kitagrl Posted 12 Jul 2009 , 1:12am
post #1 of 21

Anyone who bakes at home finding their competition is rising?

Seems like all the cake tv shows and stuff is really making cake a big business...not complaining at all, but wow I just can't believe all the cake people around here nowadays...from home bakers to medium bakeries to large fancy cake places. WOW!

20 replies
LaBellaFlor Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LaBellaFlor Posted 12 Jul 2009 , 1:34am
post #2 of 21

Personally, this is what I've noticed, people watch cake shows, people say "I want to do that!", people take a Wilton course at Michael's and say "I'm an expert decorator, I'm going in business"! In my humble opinion, I don't get it. I have seen some people take the classes & do great work, but they are the exception, not the rule. I remember when I was lookig for someone to do my wedding cake, (cause as busy as I was I certainly wasn't going to make my own cake), I called someone (Mother/daughter team) and I asked what type of buttercream they use, they said, "The delicious Wilton's buttercream" and "We just finished the course". Uh, PUKE! I consider shortening based frostings, exactly that frosting, and that buttercream is made out of actual butter. I asked if they did any type of SMBC, they didn't know what I was talking about. And I guess thats my pet peeve, learn your craft. I don't think taking the Wilton courses warrents you an expert and automatically going into business. Thats just my opinion. This is a constant learning profession, get a little know all. In the 19 years I've been at this, I've seen a lot of great things and a lot of changes and have learned a lot. I just wish for a little effort into learning yout craft. Anf for those who may wonder, I'm self taught.

bisbqueenb Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bisbqueenb Posted 12 Jul 2009 , 2:04am
post #3 of 21