Should I Just Get Wilton Square Pans?

Decorating By margaretb Updated 12 Jul 2009 , 10:30pm by Momkiksbutt

margaretb Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
margaretb Posted 11 Jul 2009 , 7:59am
post #1 of 20

I want to get some square pans. I have a 50% off coupon for michael's, so I could get the wilton set of square pans for about $30. The least expensive I have found for magic line square pans, including shipping, is around $150. Considering I am just a hobby baker, should I just go for the wiltons, considering I don't get paid for my cakes?

19 replies
dhccster Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dhccster Posted 11 Jul 2009 , 10:10am
post #2 of 20

I would say yes, go for the Wilton pans. If you ever decide to sell cakes later on, you could get the more expensive ones.

SouthernSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SouthernSugar Posted 11 Jul 2009 , 10:26am
post #3 of 20

Everyone has to start somwhere and I started with Wilton pans but the square set has its issues, the sides are not straight and the corners are rounded. I did use this set for a while but I had to trim them up quite a bit after baking to get rid of those slanted sides. If you don't mind that then go for it. Their "Decorator Preferred" pans are better as far as straight sides and sharp corners but those do not come in a set, you have to purchase them one at a time. Magic Line is the best as far as square pans but they are pricey!

sari66 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sari66 Posted 11 Jul 2009 , 10:10pm
post #4 of 20

You could also buy the 1 square pan the you use most often from magic line then save up for others

__Jamie__ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
__Jamie__ Posted 11 Jul 2009 , 10:19pm
post #5 of 20

Hobby yes. Where are you looking at Magic Line? I got a two 6", two 8", two 10" and two 4" rounds for a little over a hundred bucks a few months ago. From countykitchen or bakers nook, somewhere, I can't remember. Remember, get two of each pan size.