Need Ideas For Making Top Thrill Dragster Rollercoaster Cake

Decorating By tmelrose Updated 12 Jul 2009 , 3:18am by tmelrose

tmelrose Posted 9 Jul 2009 , 7:57pm
post #1 of 8

I'm kinda new at cake decorating. Have taken 3 of 4 wilton classes and have done a few on my own. I'm wanting to make a cake for my son's 15th birthday of his favorite rollercoaster/thrill ride "Top Thrill Dragster". Luckily his bday is a few months away. I've attempted to attach a picture of the ride but if it doesn't work please google "Top Thrill Dragster" and any suggestions on how to make this stand up cake would be greatly appreciated.
LL

7 replies
sweetcravings Posted 9 Jul 2009 , 11:13pm
post #2 of 8

That is an insane ride! I've seen it in person and couldn't believe anyone would ride the thing.
If you are trying to replicate it, maybe a gumpaste covered dowel rod for the straight portions of the coaster, and then flexible florist wire for the arches at the top and the supports. You could screw the dowel rods right into the cake board to keep it from tipping. I think if were going to replicate this ride i would focus on the 'launching' of the ride, with the coaster carts take off from.., blinking street light as they are waiting to take off, the stands for the the crowds watching..maybe a throw up bucket somewhere nearby.lol HTH
Your son must have a good stomach to ride that thing. It's the sickest ride i've ever seen in person.

tmelrose Posted 10 Jul 2009 , 2:32pm
post #3 of 8

Thanks for the ideas sweetcravings! Yes my son and husband are nuts! They've rode it 7 times and just back from Jersey where they rode Kingda Ka 6xs. Do you get dowel rods at Hobby Lobby, Michael's etc? Would I make dragster cars and lights from candy modeling clay or fondant/gumpaste or does it matter? I've never done any of this. Luckily I've got some time to work on this.

sweetcravings Posted 10 Jul 2009 , 4:20pm
post #4 of 8