Buttercream Transfer

Decorating By aggieangel Updated 11 Jul 2009 , 11:59pm by aggieangel

aggieangel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aggieangel Posted 9 Jul 2009 , 1:46pm
post #1 of 7

I have a cake due this weekend and was going to try the FBCT, I am a bit nervous as this is the first time I will attempt it. I have read the post here and seems simple, I am just nervous. The customer wants real butter, no Crisco, will this work?

6 replies
mkm25 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mkm25 Posted 9 Jul 2009 , 1:59pm
post #2 of 7

I'm no expert, but I'd guess it'd work just as well without the shortening as with it. The frozen buttercream transfer should be fine. The only concern is that you're not in a humid/hot environment. I wouldn't want all your hard work to melt once you got the cake to the party. Hope this helps!

cakeandpartygirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakeandpartygirl Posted 9 Jul 2009 , 2:00pm
post #3 of 7

If you use the recipe that is included with the article that is on the website it has a high ratio of butter to crisco. It works wonderfully. I have done several of them using the recipe and it is great!!! The article link is : http://cakecentral.com/article12-How-To-Create-a-Frozen-Buttercream-Transfer.html

The recipe link is:
http://www.cakecentral.com/cake_recipe-1602-ButterCream_Icing_for_Frozen_Transfers.html

HTH

TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 9 Jul 2009 , 8:25pm
post #4 of 7

Yes you can use all butter. I use what I normally use on my cakes (all crisco) and really don't see a need to make a different icing for the FBCT. The all butter icing will freeze hard and what is what you are looking for.

I love doing these myself and have done many of them. Just make sure you don't make it too thin and that you move fast once you pull it out of the freezer. icon_smile.gif

aggieangel Posted 9 Jul 2009 , 11:55pm
post #5 of 7

Thank you all very much, I feel a bit better about all of it. icon_smile.gif