How Do I Pull This Off?

Decorating By SazzyMcSaz Updated 13 Jul 2009 , 10:06am by mcaulir

SazzyMcSaz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SazzyMcSaz Posted 9 Jul 2009 , 10:05am
post #1 of 12

Hi All !
I am totally new to this and am just embarking on my new hobby. I want to make a tier cake for my husbands birthday. I got everything I need and then decided to research it (doing this was not my smartest move).
My question is, can you make a tier cake WITHOUT the supports? I was naive enough to think it just sat there all clever like, I never saw supports in cakes! I am ok if this turns ut a bit less than perfect, I am using my family as first recipients of my skills and they are quite understanding. My problem is, I will not be able to get back to the cake supply shop to get anything I need.
Any advice or tips would be much appreciated.

BTW I love the site and have been pouring over the galleries all night!

11 replies
rogers26 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rogers26 Posted 9 Jul 2009 , 10:14am
post #2 of 12

it IS possible to make a tiered cake without the supports as a stacked tiers, but the bigger and taller it gets, the less it is advised. You can use dowel rods that can be found at any hobby store, or Wal-Mart, whichever is closer. Good luck on the cake!

Sugarflowers Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sugarflowers Posted 9 Jul 2009 , 10:26am
post #3 of 12

Drinking straws work great for small stacked cakes. Just be sure to cut them evenly without sticking above the bottom cake. Use plenty to evenly distribute the weight. If you still have some concerns, cut skewers to the same length to provide extra support. The straws/skewers should be level with the lowest point of the cake with a medium layer of frosting. Always check your cakes for level using a bubble level reader. This will save you a lot of headaches.

HTH

Michele

RosieC Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
RosieC Posted 9 Jul 2009 , 10:33am
post #4 of 12