Hi, I'm New With A 'made From Scratch' Fondant Question

Decorating By southernbakes Updated 13 Jul 2009 , 9:28pm by mgwebb68

southernbakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
southernbakes Posted 9 Jul 2009 , 4:26am
post #1 of 24

So I was attempting my second cake today and this time I tried making my own fondant. It seemed to go pretty well but I cannot get it right. It's staying sticky and not thick (is that the right word) enough.

The recipe said to add more powdered sugar if it was sticky but I think I must have added at least another cup and it didn't help at all. At that point I Just gave up.

Has anyone run into this and have any tips you'd be willing to share?

Thanks!!

23 replies
in2cakes2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
in2cakes2 Posted 9 Jul 2009 , 4:32am
post #2 of 24

Which recipe are you using?

__Jamie__ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
__Jamie__ Posted 9 Jul 2009 , 4:54am
post #3 of 24

Gotta know which recipe you are using.

cakeordeath Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakeordeath Posted 9 Jul 2009 , 4:47pm
post #4 of 24

I have the a super simple fondant recipe that I love. I just use one cup of crisco, 1 cup of corn syrup, and a 2 lb bag of powered sugar.

cakeordeath Posted 9 Jul 2009 , 4:48pm
post #5 of 24

I have a super simple fondant recipe that I love. I just use one cup of crisco, 1 cup of corn syrup, and a 2 lb bag of powered sugar.

singinglark Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
singinglark Posted 9 Jul 2009 , 9:09pm
post #6 of 24

cakeordeath...how does that fondant taste? I am still looking for a fondant recipe that my customers don't complain about the taste. I make the MF which tastes good..but can't get the smooth finish I like.

singinglark Posted 9 Jul 2009 , 9:11pm
post #7 of 24

cakeordeath...how does that fondant taste? I am still looking for a fondant recipe that my customers don't complain about the taste. I make the MF which tastes good..but can't get the smooth finish I like.