Opinions, Please?

Decorating By percussiongrrl Updated 8 Jul 2009 , 9:14pm by Texas_Rose

percussiongrrl Posted 8 Jul 2009 , 2:03am
post #1 of 20

I'm doing a bridal shower cake for my sister for Saturday. I was given one of the plates for the shower to base my cake on. The plate is bright orange with daisy-type flowers on it, so I'm doing a 2-tier cake iced in bright orange BC with fondant flowers. I finished the flowers tonight but it's my first try with fondant flowers and I'm nervous! Do you think these look alright? If you were a bride, would you be disappointed with these on your shower cake? What can I do to make them better before I put them on the cake, or at least when I do them next time? How do I make sure they stay on the cake properly?
LL
LL
LL
LL

19 replies
JaeRodriguez Posted 8 Jul 2009 , 2:16am
post #2 of 20

Hi! I think that your flowers look great! I might make the middle a little less... tall or bulky does that make sense? and I would take a tooth pick and make little indentions in the middle part too to make it look more life like! Those are the only two things I can think of but SERIOUSLY I haven't tried fondant flowers yet and I can only hope mine look this good! If it were my cake I'd be a happy camper!

PinkLisa Posted 8 Jul 2009 , 2:23am
post #3 of 20

I think they look really nice, but to improve on them I would thin the edges. For small daisy's I just push a ball tool on then and the petals spread out for a really nice look. If they are bigger you can just roll the ball tool around the outside of the petals (leave the center of the petal thicker for strength. I love the colors! Good luckicon_smile.gif

percussiongrrl Posted 8 Jul 2009 , 2:34am
post #4 of 20

PinkLisa, I'm not sure I'm understanding what you're suggesting. Do you have pictures of daisies with the edges thinned? Where would I get a ball tool? Would Joann or Hobby Lobby have it, or would I have to order it? I'm sorry, I'm a beginner and sometimes I just don't "get it" yet!