Fondant That Tastes Good

Baking By Dana8793 Updated 10 Jul 2009 , 2:13pm by jlynnw

Dana8793 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Dana8793 Posted 7 Jul 2009 , 10:46pm
post #1 of 39

Help, I am new to cake decorating, and all of the online fondant recipes I have tried taste terrible, the store bought ones taste almost vinegary, but they roll and decorate nicely. The online recipes taste better, but always stick and never roll clean no matter how much conf. sugar or cornstarch I use....I am looking for a relatively easy fondant recipe that mixes well, colors well, and tastes good, almost as if it tastes like icing.... anyone out there who can help me will be appreciated....

38 replies
anamado Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
anamado Posted 7 Jul 2009 , 10:55pm
post #2 of 39

MMF (marshmallow fondant) is the one that works for me!!!!
But the easiness of working with it comes with experience....
I love it and I do all my decoration with it. I cover my cakes, do the accents and modeling with it.

kokopuff Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kokopuff Posted 7 Jul 2009 , 10:55pm
post #3 of 39

I had the same problem.I tried different versions until I finally found one I like.In the recipe section I found Rhonda's ultimate marshmallow fondant.It is super easy to make and use and can be stored in the fridge with no problems.

MORSELSBYMARK Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MORSELSBYMARK Posted 7 Jul 2009 , 11:05pm
post #4 of 39

Michele Foster's fondant recipe is what I use. It can be tweaked for different flavours, is easy enough to make, and rolls out nicely!

mkolmar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mkolmar Posted 7 Jul 2009 , 11:56pm
post #5 of 39

I use Michelle Fosters Fondant or buy Albert Uster brand.

Lita829 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lita829 Posted 8 Jul 2009 , 12:08am
post #6 of 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by anamado

MMF (marshmallow fondant) is the one that works for me!!!!
But the easiness of working with it comes with experience....