Newbie Needs Help In Texas...

Business By kikster Updated 7 Jul 2009 , 1:13pm by kikster

kikster Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kikster Posted 6 Jul 2009 , 4:33pm
post #1 of 9

Hi all!! I am a registered newbie, but have been reading and learning so much from all of you for months and months.

I am interested in becoming licensed in TX. I know I can't operate out of my home, so will probably go the route of renting commercial kitchen space. My question is, for anyone in TX, where to begin? Do I need to talk to someone locally, in my local chamber of commerce? Or call TXDH? I am sort of overwhelmed and don't know where to begin.

Thank you in advance for any help, AND, anyone know the trick to posting pictures? Can't seem to get it to work!

8 replies
notjustcake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
notjustcake Posted 6 Jul 2009 , 5:14pm
post #2 of 9

I live in Oklahom and the laws are very different, first you need to find a place to rent.

It took me 3 years to find mine it should be easier for you to find if you live near a major city in Texas.

You have a ways to go so slow down and before you think of anything else find a kitchen to rent. If you do not have you can't get all the other stuff to go into getting a license and all.

If you have anymore questions you can pm if you like

mbt4955 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mbt4955 Posted 6 Jul 2009 , 6:21pm
post #3 of 9

Check out Earlene Moore's website. http://www.earlenescakes.com/business.htm Earlene is in Texas, she is legal and she shares some excellent information on her website.

Good luck with the new business, kikster. I'm glad you decided to jump in!

cakesdivine Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesdivine Posted 6 Jul 2009 , 9:06pm
post #4 of 9