I Am Getting So Frustrated...

Decorating By Bonnie1462 Updated 3 Jul 2009 , 3:50pm by pouchet82

Bonnie1462 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Bonnie1462 Posted 3 Jul 2009 , 4:09am
post #1 of 7

OK, I'm relatively new at this cake stuff and I really enjoy it. But I get so frustrated icing my cake! At times I think I would pay someone $20 bucks just to ice it. I can get it smooth, after working for what seems like hours on it, but a lot of times, I make the top edges too thin and you can see the cake shadow coming through. Or worse, sometimes you can see cake crumbs. I bought Sharon's video and use her icing, and mine starts out ok, but then I play with it and play with it like I have OCD. What does everyone do...do you put it in the fridge before the Viva smoothing? Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

6 replies
cakelady11215 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakelady11215 Posted 3 Jul 2009 , 4:17am
post #2 of 7

I would love to know as well! How does everyone get it so smooth? And edges so crisp? Obviously practice helps but there's gotta be some tricks out there...help out the newbies please! LOL icon_smile.gif

__Jamie__ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
__Jamie__ Posted 3 Jul 2009 , 4:22am
post #3 of 7

Sugarshack DVD. Wonderful help. I quit using crusting BC awhile back, but a lot of her tips are still useful. Love those DVD's. You can google Suared Productions, and it will pop up.

matthewkyrankelly Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
matthewkyrankelly Posted 3 Jul 2009 , 4:32am
post #4 of 7