I Don't Want Crusty Edges.. How Do I Stop It ???

Decorating By vlk Updated 5 Jul 2009 , 6:24pm by vlk

vlk Posted 2 Jul 2009 , 8:14pm
post #1 of 12

HI -

I am new to the decorating.... I have been baking cakes for years and now that I feel that I have the baking down.. I am dabbling in decorating (ALOT HARDER THAN IT LOOKS.. Kudos to all of you!)

My question is ... on my 9" round cakes - how do I NOT get the crusty hard edges? Am I cooking to high temp and too fast ? Its horrid.. I never really thought about it before, now that I need a nice clean edge I am noticing it more and more -

Thanks for the help !

11 replies
tiggy2 Posted 2 Jul 2009 , 8:26pm
post #2 of 12

I bake at 325 degrees and use bake even strips. On anything over 8" I also use a flower nail inverted in the center of the pan. Everything bakes even and there is no hump. On very large pans 2 nails may be needed. Just be sure to coat them with whatever you coat your pan with. When you turn the cake out on to the cooling rack the nail is easily removed leaving just a tiny hole.

G_Cakes Posted 2 Jul 2009 , 8:42pm
post #3 of 12

I agree with tiggy and would follow those steps, but also you may want to consider investing in some good bakeware.

Off the top of my head I can not think of the names but I know that alot of the bakeware I had was cheap and thin, and really not that good at all.

I have a lot of different types of pans but use alot of the wilton pans.

I think another good brand is Magic pan (could be wrong on the name) but I am sure others will correct me and offer up other names.

HTH icon_smile.gif

tiggy2 Posted 2 Jul 2009 , 8:48pm
post #4 of 12

Magic Line pans are the best IMO and Fat Daddios and Wilton are are next in line.

vlk Posted 3 Jul 2009 , 12:47am
post #5 of 12

Tiggy2 and MissLizzy - THANK YOU

I use Fat Daddios pans - I spent some $$ on then thinking that was the problem? needed better pans - but still have the hard edge.