Overlaying Fondant

Decorating By mommakeef Updated 30 Jun 2009 , 4:03pm by Renaejrk

mommakeef Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mommakeef Posted 30 Jun 2009 , 2:50pm
post #1 of 22

Hey all! For my July 4th cake I want to do a tier in white fondant, then a layer of blue fondant over that and cut out stars to show the white underneath. How do i make sure the fondant layers stick together, but still be able to remove the blue where I want the white to show through?

I know it'd probably be easier to add white stars on top of blue fondant, but I thought this way would look so much better!

Thanks for any help!!

~Shannon

21 replies
kokopuff Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kokopuff Posted 30 Jun 2009 , 3:01pm
post #2 of 22

I'm new to fondant but you could probably just cut the stars out before you add it to the cake(you know, when it's rolled out). Just dab a litle water on the first layer so the second one will stick.Sounds like it will be pretty.I might give it a try myself.

kokopuff Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kokopuff Posted 30 Jun 2009 , 3:02pm
post #3 of 22

I'm new to fondant but you could probably just cut the stars out before you add it to the cake(you know, when it's rolled out). Just dab a litle water on the first layer so the second one will stick.Sounds like it will be pretty.I might give it a try myself.

artscallion Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
artscallion Posted 30 Jun 2009 , 3:03pm
post #4 of 22

Maybe cut the stars out of the blue before laying it on the cake. Then apply piping gel to the underside of the blue that will then rest on the white. Though you'd have to place the blue over the white very carefully so the piping gel doesn't smudge onto the white in the cut out areas.