I Need Help For My Son's Birthday Cake

Decorating By ButterCream9 Updated 1 Jul 2009 , 10:54pm by ButterCream9

ButterCream9 Posted 28 Jun 2009 , 10:55pm
post #1 of 13

My son's 2-year-old birthday is coming in a week. I suppose to have two small parties: one for his friends and their parents then one for our family ad relatives the day after and 40 miles away from home. Since last year birthday cake with fondant was not good, I decide to make the cake this year. However, I am a newbie and don't know much about cakes and decorations. Please help me with something easy and yummy and /or small (for the little fingers). Perhaps petit fours (I actually don't know what petit fours are but they sounds small and attractive) and something else that can make a day or two before. Thanks so much in advance.

12 replies
gatorcakes Posted 29 Jun 2009 , 1:13am
post #2 of 13

Hi, I'm a newbie too. What does your son like? Maybe cupcakes would work for you. Sorry not to be much help. Just wanted to offer some encouragement. icon_smile.gif

Texas_Rose Posted 29 Jun 2009 , 1:19am
post #3 of 13

I would go with cupcakes rather than petit fours...petit fours are a lot more work than just making one big cake or some cupcakes. Here's a picture of petit fours so you can see what they are icon_biggrin.gif It's kind of an upscale Little Debbie cake.
LL

AXOCutie143 Posted 29 Jun 2009 , 1:23am
post #4 of 13

What about a mini-cake, and then a bunch of matching cupcakes? Check the galleries, you're BOUND to be inspired.

Lisaa1996 Posted 29 Jun 2009 , 1:27am
post #5 of 13