Egg Alergy And Cake

Decorating By gatorcakes Updated 29 Jun 2009 , 10:09pm by gatorcakes

gatorcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gatorcakes Posted 26 Jun 2009 , 7:34pm
post #1 of 10

I am new to cake making/decorating and have a son with a severe egg allergy. The decorations (besides Royal Icing) seem to be egg-free so I don't have problems with them. Sadly, I have had an enormous amount of trouble getting cake that doesn't crumble using egg replacer. Does anyone know of a secret to baking a non-cumbly cake without eggs?

Thank you!

9 replies
katoomba Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
katoomba Posted 26 Jun 2009 , 7:42pm
post #2 of 10

My son is allergic to eggs too. I use Ener-G egg replacer and I add milled flax seed. Most boxed cakes use 3 eggs and that is just too much for Ener-G egg replacer so the Flax seed helps. I can't make really large cakes with it though. If you search for "wacky cake' -- that is supposed to be a good recipe but I have not tried it yet.

aliciag829 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aliciag829 Posted 26 Jun 2009 , 7:49pm
post #3 of 10

I stumbled across this website. They show how to make a cake using cake mix and pop instead of eggs or oil. I haven't tried it myself, but it looks like it worked out for them!

http://www.omnomicon.com/rainbowcake

supermama322 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
supermama322 Posted 26 Jun 2009 , 9:19pm
post #4 of 10