Cake Bible

Decorating By Barb00 Updated 28 Jun 2009 , 2:24am by sweettoothmom1

Barb00 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Barb00 Posted 26 Jun 2009 , 11:20am
post #1 of 14

Ok, I am new to cake decorating and getting an education on cake baking. I see many references to the Cake Bible. When I google it, there is more than one title/author for Cake Bible. Which is the true, "gospel" Cake Bible? Sounds like it is full of wonderful information!

13 replies
Evoir Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Evoir Posted 26 Jun 2009 , 11:31am
post #2 of 14

That would be the thick tome of Rose Levy Beranbaum.

icon_smile.gif

Loucinda Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Loucinda Posted 26 Jun 2009 , 12:34pm
post #3 of 14

Here is a link to some discussion on that very book!

http://cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-637966.html

Barb00 Posted 27 Jun 2009 , 2:24am
post #4 of 14

Thanks. Guess I missed that other discussion going on.

DDarkey Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DDarkey Posted 27 Jun 2009 , 3:59pm
post #5 of 14

You can also google the word "cake decorating"

-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 27 Jun 2009 , 4:26pm
post #6 of 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barb00

Ok, I am new to cake decorating and getting an education on cake baking. I see many references to the Cake Bible. When I google it, there is more than one title/author for Cake Bible. Which is the true, "gospel" Cake Bible? Sounds like it is full of wonderful information!

There is no gospel cake book like you are saying. Rose wrote a book and she called it the cake bible but in caking just like most everything else (not like packing a parachute I guess) you read and absorb all you can and you make your own choices.

There is not sucha baking book that says and does it all.
There's not one all inclusive compendium by any means.
If there were it would not be her book.

It's just a name.