Big Cake For Home Baker

Decorating By Kookie Updated 27 Jun 2009 , 9:44pm by Kookie

Kookie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kookie Posted 26 Jun 2009 , 12:20am
post #1 of 11

I might get a wedding cake order for 250 people.
I am a home baker and have a regular oven.
My biggest round cake I made was 12" round for a wedding.
I don't know if bigger pans fit in the oven or bake well.
I would like to hear from home baker who does wedding or big party.
How do you do if you get big cake order?
Thanks.

10 replies
bakingatthebeach Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bakingatthebeach Posted 26 Jun 2009 , 12:33am
post #2 of 11

I can fit a 16 in in my oven. I always bake at 325 and anything 12 in or over I use inverted flower nails as a heating core. I know some dont and dont have issues, but I have never had an issue using the flower nail vs not using and having to rebake. They bake up fine.

renee2007 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
renee2007 Posted 26 Jun 2009 , 12:33am
post #3 of 11

I made my friends wedding cake and the largest round was 14" and it fit fine in my oven. hth thumbs_up.gif

Kookie Posted 26 Jun 2009 , 1:13am
post #4 of 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bakingatthebeach

I can fit a 16 in in my oven. I always bake at 325 and anything 12 in or over I use inverted flower nails as a heating core. I know some dont and dont have issues, but I have never had an issue using the flower nail vs not using and having to rebake. They bake up fine.

I saw your cake photos and what sizes of Lace wedding cake?
I love your light blue MMF laces. Very beautiful!!
Did you use regular buttercream frosting?

Kitagrl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kitagrl Posted 26 Jun 2009 , 1:21am
post #5 of 11

I'm a home baker and the large cakes are no problem...my biggest problem is that anything larger than about a 20" base doesn't fit well in my fridge and I don't like leaving it out where my kids can find it.

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile