What Cake Works Best When U're Palnning To Make A Vertical

Decorating By Karenreg Updated 3 Jul 2009 , 7:33pm by madgeowens

Karenreg Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Karenreg Posted 25 Jun 2009 , 10:51pm
post #1 of 17

I'm a newbie . I'd like to know what cakes work best if I need to make a cake stand vertical , like incase I'm making a house cake or a purse cake.

Is it ok to use a cake mix for that cake? if yes which 1 wud u suggest.

Incase I need to make a cake from scratch which one's shud I make ?

TIA.

16 replies
CakeMommy3 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeMommy3 Posted 25 Jun 2009 , 11:58pm
post #2 of 17

I like the WASC (white almond sour cream) cake. It's in the recipes. It starts with a mix, but then you add to it. It makes a very sturdy, tasty cake. I'm not sure on the scratch recipe. I know that if you are really going to carve the heck out of your cake, pound cake is a good choice.

cheatize Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cheatize Posted 26 Jun 2009 , 5:18am
post #3 of 17

I just made a house using the Wilton house pan. It was 3 houses thick, all torted and filled. The cake I used was the caramel version of WASC. It was plenty sturdy and stood up perfectly overnight and for the 40 plus miles it traveled the next day. I did dowel the bejeebers out of it, though. I kept picturing all the layers separating and the whole thing slooowwwly falling apart, but no worries.

I just made a small purse cake with a square pan. I cut the cake into thirds and stacked them. It's similar to any other stacked cake. The bigger issue for me was the handle for the purse.

Karenreg Posted 26 Jun 2009 , 5:49pm
post #4 of 17

Thanks CakeMommy3 for ur advise. I will definitely try using the recipe for WASC Cake.