Fondant/gumpaste Rolling Board ??

Decorating By CookieO Updated 28 Jun 2009 , 6:23am by Rylan

CookieO Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CookieO Posted 25 Jun 2009 , 5:19pm
post #1 of 21

Hi, I'm new here (although been reading for a few weeks). I live in Texas near Kingwood/Humble. Not finding many local shops for baking etc supplies.

I'm new to fondant/gumpaste modeling and trying to find a good rolling board, not too big.

I've seen on you tube ppl using the non stick green boards but cant find them online in the US. I've looked online at the cellpad boards but have a question about those as well.

1.) Does anyone know where to find the non stick green boards? Or have one you would part with (I can paypal instant funds).

2.) Cellpad boards - How thick are these?

3.) What have any of you used as an alternative for a smooth surface rolling board?

Right now I'm using a very thin white flexiible item bought at Wal-Mart in the kitchen dept, with a foam sheet under it to keep it from slipping/moving. It's ok for a temp solution but I believe I need something thicker & harder surface. Any suggestions?

Naturally I dont want to waste money, so I thought I would ask here for input.

Any advise, knowledge, tips on fondant/gumpaste rolling boards welcomed. Thanks so much! icon_smile.gif

Kay

20 replies
CookieO Posted 25 Jun 2009 , 9:27pm
post #2 of 21

anyone? please?

I need input on a good board to roll out my gumpaste/fondant for modeling work.

I can order one (green board) from the UK, but hoping to save "some" on that over seas shipping though, if I can.

Uniqueask Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Uniqueask Posted 25 Jun 2009 , 9:35pm
post #3 of 21

I use a regular silicone mat, that I use for Fondant, it is blue it can be purchased at GlobalSugarArt. The brand is Ateco

CookieO Posted 25 Jun 2009 , 10:14pm
post #4 of 21

Thanks for the reply.