Wasc Questions

Decorating By Rthrbswmng Updated 25 Jun 2009 , 9:44pm by JanH

Rthrbswmng Posted 25 Jun 2009 , 6:43am
post #1 of 6

I'm still relatively new to cake decorating and I just made WASC for the first time (love the taste), but I'm having some issues and I do not know if its the recipe, my oven, or I'm doing something wrong. I used a 8 in pan that is 3 in deep. I sprayed it with my usual pam and put the mix in. After an hour of baking at 325, the middle wasn't done what so ever. I had to bake it an addional 20 minutes before the knife came out clean. Then the whole bottom stuck to the pan (never had this happen before except when I tried to use oil/flour to grease the pan). By the time I got the cake out of the pan, most of the sides fell onto my counter so I had scrap it. So I decided to try again, thinking I might have not greased the pan well enough or set the oven high enough. I moved it up to 335, and still had to bake about 1 hr and 20 minutes (usually 55 is enough). Some of the bottom still stuck to the pan, but I might be able to get around it with a little extra filling for that layer instead of throwing away that cake too. Am I doing something wrong or could I be doing something differently? I thought of possibly adding in a greased flower nail as I read some people do, but thought of that halfway into baking the second cake. Would this help the center to cook more throughly? I also thought of trying to make bake even strips with wet paper towels and tin foil, but never have tried this before. Thanks for any suggestions someone may be able to give. I want to keep making this cake, but not if its going to cause such frustration.

5 replies
paulstonia Posted 25 Jun 2009 , 7:00am
post #2 of 6