First Cake Tasting On Friday...need Help With Flavors

Decorating By rharris524 Updated 25 Jun 2009 , 5:56pm by Lori17201

rharris524 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rharris524 Posted 25 Jun 2009 , 1:27am
post #1 of 8

I spoke with the bride and she said that they were talking about almond cake. They are having a renaissance wedding and want it as true to period as possible. Since there were no 'wedding cakes' at the time they figured that they'd go as traditional as possible. I'm bringing WASC for them to taste but I'd like to offer another flavor or two. What are some other 'traditional' or 'old fashion' flavors? I'm a funky flavor combo girl normally so traditional is throwing me for a loop

7 replies
BakeLoveMom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BakeLoveMom Posted 25 Jun 2009 , 1:32am
post #2 of 8

I am no history expert, but what about pound cake or fruitcake...???

auntmamie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
auntmamie Posted 25 Jun 2009 , 1:33am
post #3 of 8

Try almond, chocolate, vanilla and spice. Then pair with a vanilla BC, almond BC, chocolate BC and cream cheese frosting.

That's pretty traditional, and offer up sliced strawberries as an addition to the fillings if they want.

CookieD-oh Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CookieD-oh Posted 25 Jun 2009 , 1:40am
post #4 of 8

These won't do at all, but just for fun, here are some recipes:

http://www.homemade-dessert-recipes.com/renaissance-cake-recipes.html

Maybe you can get some ideas from the listed ingredients. Rosewater seemed to be quite the pantry staple back then.

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 25 Jun 2009 , 1:43am
post #5 of 8

From my "wedding cake history" file:

-----------------------------------------------